Quite inappropriate

Special thanks to my roommate for providing me with this delightfully disturbing photo.

Hmm…where to begin? Why does this seemingly underage girl look so sexual? There’s no way this should be legal. She has shoes, why doesn’t the boy? The boy seems overdressed in comparison to the girl. What is going on here?!

Besides, an air mattress is used when the host needs room for their guests – not promiscuity. I don’t equate sexual lingerie and inappropriately young cleavage with an air mattress. When I think of an air mattress, I picture a scenario in which one pal says to the other, “Of course you can crash at my place, but you’ll have to sleep on an air mattress, dude. The city is really expensive and my apartment is tiny.”

Is anyone else as disturbed as I am with this?

Another thing…are they in a giant’s house or something? Look at the enormous rug underneath the air mattress. Is this Jack, the beanstalk, and his underage friend with benefits? Do you see the flower pot in the background? That thing is the same size as Jack’s torso.

I’ll be honest, the typographical hierarchy isn’t the worst thing I’ve ever seen. The kerning could be better, but it’s not terrible.

The logo definitely needs some work. The house in the background makes it cluttered and confusing. I can’t tell if that’s a bad driveway or if a creek coming out of the house. If it’s a driveway – that’s bad news for resale value. If it’s a creek…why is there a creek coming out of the house? Either way, it’s bad design.

Overall, I’m just going to have to scratch my head in confusion and move on. There’s no rescuing this design. It’s bad, bad, bad.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Critique, Graphic Design, Products, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Quite inappropriate

  1. Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossip and internet stuff and this is actually annoying. A good web site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thank you for making this web-site, and I’ll be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Can’t find it.

  2. nikparks

    Thank you very much! I have a gift for criticizing others and thought, “Hey, a blog would be the perfect place to utilize it.”

Leave a Reply

