TEMPTATION for kids

It saddens me to say that your eyes are not deceiving you. Somebody in New York City has actually named their store “TEMPTATION for kids”. Sigh…

People, don’t ever, ever, ever, under any circumstance, ever name your store TEMPTATION for kids. Not even if it’s a candy store (do those still exist, by the way?)

This store just doesn’t make any sense!  It’s a clothing store…for kids…called TEMPTATION for kids. What?! Kids aren’t tempted by clothes! Kids don’t even like clothes. If you don’t believe me, try giving a kid clothes for Christmas.

I’m going to be honest, folks. These guys are really setting themselves up for ridicule. But I’m just going to stop while I’m ahead. This could easily get inappropriate. Call me a prude if you want.

Do you see how important graphic design is? You don’t want to scare the crap out of people.

Just change the name, guys. Please, just change the name. You’ll be doing yourselves a HUGE favor.

I feel like this entry is entirely too short. You know what I’m going to do for you? I’m going to give you…ANOTHER BAD DESIGN.

The other day I was in East Harlem. Not the safest place to be in New York, but I knew where I was going. There’s a Target up there. The only Target in the entire city, in fact.

It’s funny, once you move to a big city like NYC, you occasionally want something that reminds you of your home town. I know I’m not the only one who has felt this way because my girlfriend went through the same thing in London. Target in East Harlem has high ceilings, minimal crowds, open aisles, etc. My descriptions might make it sounds sketchy but, trust me, it just feels like a good-ole-Arkansan-giant-store that contains everything you could need.

So anyway, I’m on my way to Target when—lo and behold—I see this:

I’m in the business of visual communication. Ahem, observe:

Leave a comment

Filed under Advertising, Art, Critique, Graphic Design, Signage

Leave a Reply

